Scots Baroque


Scots Baroque is a newly-formed early music ensemble based in Glasgow, Scotland. Primarily performing music of the the baroque period, we also experiment with a fusion of techniques and genres, including improvisation, various folk styles, and contemporary music written for old instruments. Individually, we perform with leading ensembles such as Dunedin Consort, Concerto Caledonia, Academy of Ancient Music, Orchestra of the Age of the Enlightenment, and Les Musiciens de Saint Julien. We bring together an impressive range of experience, with programmes combining the latest research, unusual repertoire, and a flair for dramatic performance.

László Rózsa – Recorders

Aaron McGregor – Violin

Lucia Capellaro – Cello

Alex McCartney – Theorbo & Guitar

Sample programmes:

O’er the Water: Italian-Scots hybrids by Oswald and Barsanti. Wild extemporisations on folk tunes by McLean and McGibbon. Reels and airs by Niel Gow.
Folk-baroque: Hybrid folk/art music from across Europe: Polish music by Telemann and Schmelzer. Wild Scandinavian dances and gypsy tunes. Irish and Scottish music by O’Carolan and Geminiani.
Les Goûts Réunis: A journey through the French baroque. Courtly dances by Lully, Italian-inflected works by Couperin and the musical experiments of Rameau.
Penicuik to Rome: A Grand Tour tracing the travels of Scottish composer John Clerk of Penicuik (1676-1755). Music from Edinburgh, Utrecht, Vienna, Rome, and Paris, by Clerk and his teachers, Corelli, Bassani, Pasquini, and Polish violinist Jacob Kremberg.
English Restoration: Courtly dances, consorts and theatre tunes by Purcell and Locke, country dances by Playford, and trio sonatas by Handel.